sprinkles

Hello all!

I hope your Sunday has kicked off the week on a positive note.

Thus far my Sunday has consisted of working brunch service, cleaning, purging junk, rearranging furniture, and pulling off a lovely crow in a kick butt yoga class.

Oh, and has anyone else been going crazy with cedar allergies? I’m losing it over here. I’m having to take a break from my New Years cleaning to eat and I can hardly taste my evol veggie burritto I’m so stuffy.

Bleh, but enough of that. I have a promise to fulfill!

This is my favorite white cake recipe. It is fluffy and sweet but firm and not too vanilla-y. It’s nice and firm and I love making layer cakes with it. I just love it.

I made these for a photoshoot. They came out beautiful for a first attempt at roses. They were topped with a brown sugar butter cream that looked beautiful but tasted awful due to a bad vanilla situation. Just top em with your favorite vanilla icing.

Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes, makes 24

  • 2 3/4 cups flour, sifted
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 1 tbl baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, nice and soft
  • 4 large eggs whites and 1 whole large egg
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Very generous 1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350 and prep a cupcake tin for 24 cupcakes.

Place all dry ingredients into mixer. Add butter and mix until it resembles a kind of sandy paste.

Add egg whites one at a time. Mix after each one and scraping down after. Add the whole egg.

From here add 1/3 cup of milk at a time, mixing for about a minute or two after each addition and then scraping down.

Once nice and fluffy, carefully fold in 1/4 to 1/2 cup rainbow sprinkles. (or pink/red for Valentines?)

Portion into cupcake tins and bake around 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool on a rack and frost as desired.

(I like the pink ones best)

Have a great day!

Beca

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

