peanut butter treats

Peanut butter, the versatile fruit of confections and sandwiches alike.

Today, I have a particularly delicious and almost ridiculously easy peanut butter dessert to share. I came across this snack years ago at a recipe swap at an old job and they’re such a fun little treat. The kind you whip up for a pot luck, a bake sale, a welcome to the neighborhood treat, or to surprise a friend. They’re that kind of simple and homey treat that brings people together.

I love that.

Since I rediscovered the recipe in my lonely recipe binder, I’ve been itching to make them for someone and dinner with Shadia proved the perfect opportunity. I still can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get these up here!!

The main selling points of these guys are as follows:

1. They only have FOUR ingredients.

2. They’re delicious.

3. They’re gluten free.

4. Peanut butter?

5. NO BAKE

Ready?

Peanut Butter Crisp Treats

5 cups rice puff cereal such as Rice Krispies

1 cup corn syrup, a no high fructose syrup variety

1 cup sugar

1 cup creamy peanut butter

Bring your corn syrup and sugar to a boil, making sure all the sugar is dissolved. In another small bowl, place your peanut butter.

Once the sugar syrup comes to a boil you may begin pouring it over the peanut butter. Stir to fully incorporate the peanut butter, continue stirring until smooth. (to eliminate a dish to wash you may also just add the peanut butter to the sauce pan, just do not place back on the heat at any time)

Pour the peanut butter syrup over the five cups of cereal in a large bowl. Stir gently to fully incorporate.

Spoon mixture into a greased 9×13 or other pan of your choice. Cool and cut into desired shapes.

See? Ridiculously easy. I can’t wait to try it out with almond butter!

Feel free to get crazy. Add in chocolate chips, cut out funky shapes, add spinkles, or dip in chocolate! With something this simple, the possibilities seem literally endless.

Yum.

-Rebeca
*On a side note, I was under the impression that all rice cereal was gluten free. No? When I saw regular Rice Krispies and Gluten Free Rice Krispies I was greatly confused. To eliminate any risk I went with the gluten free variety. If this isn’t a concern just go with the plain jane box. Could anyone explain this difference to me?*

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “peanut butter treats

  1. Hi there, always i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the
    break of day, for the reason that i enjoy to find out more and more.

  2. What the what?! Amazing. I was sold after I read “peanut butter”. ;-)

Leave a Reply

